Today is  
History of the Philippine Society for Distance Learning, Inc.

Beginnings of the Philippine Society for Distance Learning, Inc.

           The Philippine Society for Distance Learning, Inc. (PSDL) was formally organized on 25 September 2006 at the INNOTECH Center in Diliman, Quezon City by 15 academics who were all working at various aspects of distance education. A total of 31 individuals were originally invited to form an academic society for distance learning, but only 15 were able to attend the organizational meeting. The convenor of the organizational meeting was Dr. Felix Librero, then Chancellor of the U.P. Open University. Click here for the complete list of those invited to the organizational meeting. Click here for the list of those who were present during the organizational meeting.

           During the organizational meeting which was presided over by Dr. Librero, those present decided on the following: they elected nine members to comprise the Board of Trustees; they decided that the Charter Membership Fee shall be P2,000; they decided that those not present but who shall pay the Charter Membership Fee of P2,000 shall also be considered Charter Members of the Society. (Eight of those originally invited to the organizational meeting but could not attend ultimately paid the Charter Membership fee of P2,000 in 2007. Hence, the total number of charter Members of PSDL was 23.)

           Upon election, the members of the BOT immediately convened (this was considered the first meeting of the Board of Trustees) and, from among themselves, elected the Executive Officers of the PSDL. Elected executive officers were: Chair of the Board and President, Felix Librero (U.P. Open University); Vice President, Zenaida Domingo (SEAMEO-INNOTECH); Secretary, Victoria Bautista (UP Diliman and UPOU); Treasuer, Liza Carascal (UPLB and UPOU); and Auditor, Carmencita Castolo (Polytechnic University of the Philippines); Members of the Board at-Large were: Antonio Refre (Philippine Women University), Nemah Hermosa (UP Diliman and UPOU), Josefina Natividad (UP Diliman), and Flor Amor Monta (Central Luzon State University).

           The PSDL was registered with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) on 30 October 2006, with the original 15 organizing members as Incorporators.

           The Board of Trustees constituted five standing committees with their respective Chairs and Members.